School Governance

The governance structure of the Perins Multi-Academy Trust (MAT) officially began operating on 1st September 2017 and is made up of the following groups:

  • Five Members of the MAT
  • A Trustee Board of nine Trustees including the Executive Headteacher (EHT)
  • A Local Governing Body (LGB) at Perins, including elected staff and parent members
  • A Local Governing Body (LGB) at Sun Hill Junior School (SHJS), including elected staff and parent members
  • An Audit & Risk Committee
  • A Pay Committee

The Trustees are firmly committed to the idea of partnership with parents. They are clear that this representation allows us to hold the importance of teaching and learning at the forefront of everything that we do as we work together in partnership.

Who is eligible to become a parent member of an LGB? 

  • In general, any parent with a child currently on roll at Perins or SHJS is eligible to become a member of an LGB.
  • If there are more applications than vacancies we will hold an election.  More details about this will be available in due course.
  • There are some restrictions about eligibility: more information is available from the Chair of Trustees on

For further information please visit the Department for Education website. If you have any further questions please contact the Chair of Trustees by email.

To contact any of the MAT Members, Trustees or members of the LGB’s, please email

Governor Position
Simon Barber Teaching Staff Member of Perins LGB
Fern Calver Support Staff Member of Perins LGB
Mike Clayton Member of Perins LGB
Tom Clayton-Shepherd Teaching Staff Member of the Perins LGB
Jan Conway Member of the MAT
Margaret Crowe Member of the MAT
Jonathan Flory Trustee (co-opted) and Member of Perins LGB
Penny Garnett Vice-chair of Trustees (appointed) and Chair of Audit & Risk Committee
Steve Jones Executive Headteacher, Trustee (appointed) and member of the Perins LGB
Roger Lawes Trustee (appointed) and Chair of Pay Committee
Alison Mayne Member of the MAT, Chair of Trustees (appointed) and Chair of Perins LGB
Sue Pakenham-Walsh Member of the MAT, Trustee (appointed) and Chair of SHJS LGB
Helen Sandell Trustee (appointed) and Member of Perins LGB
Bernard Tucker Member of Perins LGB
Katy Toms Trustee (appointed) and Member of SHJS LGB
Ellis Williams Trustee (appointed) and Member of Perins LGB
Bishop David Williams Member of the MAT

There will be additional staff and parent members of both the Perins LGB and the SHJS LGB – these members will be formally appointed or elected after 1st September 2017.